“Brightening” Face Creams

I really like the idea of skin brightening serums and creams. I have tried three different brightening face creams over the past six months. I have been using the first two serums a lot since I was left with some scarring from blemishes – my skin has settled down now with the help of the Effaclar Duo. These serums and creams are meant to help with brightening the skin, reducing pigmentation and scarring and generally giving you a more radiant complexion.

First up is the L’Oreal Youthcode Luminize Serum. This stuff is lovely! It has a silky texture that absorbs really well and isn’t heavy on the skin. It’s also got a kind of highlighting effect as it is slightly pearlescent. For me, this gives my skin a really glowy look which, because I tend to use this for the day only, works really well under light makeup. It is meant to be very effective at reducing pigmentation and dark spots and I have to say that I find it really is helping my skin recover from blemish scars.  This normally costs about £16 from Boots or Superdrug but to be honest I have always managed to get it on offer for less.

IMG_3171IMG_4564

IMG_4555

The next product which I mainly use at night is the much talked about Garnier Dark Spot Corrector which costs about £9.99 from Boots or Superdrug. This stuff is packed with Vitamin C which is supposed to work wonders on dark spots and pigmentation. This again has a really light texture which absorbs really easily. I prefer using this at night only because I like the highlighting effect of the L’Oreal Youthcode for the day. I feel like this is almost as effective as the L’Oreal Youthcode and I find the two work together quite well for me. I have fairly normal skin so I don’t need to use heavy moisturisers even in the winter. Both these serums provide me with adequate moisture and do seem to make my skin look brighter.

IMG_4550IMG_4553

And finally we have Clinique Even Better Skin Tone Correcting Lotion (about £35). This is also a brightening product that is meant to minimise dark spots and skin pigmentation. This has a built in SPF 20. I used this a lot when I was on holiday in Malaysia – I got it Duty Free on my way there. I found the texture, although still quite light, a bit too heavy for me. To be honest I think that is because of the SPF which seems to make creams a little heavier. As you can see from the picture, it’s still a very light lotion but it’s not a serum. I haven’t used this much since my holiday but will probably use it in the summer. I did like it but didn’t feel that it was as effective as the L’Oreal or the Garnier.

IMG_4557IMG_4563

IMG_4562

Overall my favourite is definitely the L’Oreal Youthcode which I will definitely be buying again. As for the other two – I am not so sure!

One thought on ““Brightening” Face Creams

Leave a Reply

