Too Old for Shorts?!

I love the idea of wearing glamorous shorts with black tights, heels and a smart top and jacket. The only thing that has held me back is the concern that at 38 (almost 39) I am just too old for shorts!

When a friend invited me to a hen do / party which involved a stretch hummer and a night at Floridita’s in London (Latin club) I thought it was the perfect opportunity to step outside my comfort zone and try out the glamorous shorts!

So I went straight onto Asos (one of my favourite online shops) and ordered two pairs that fit the idea I had in my head. First up is this gold jacquard pair reduced from £35 to £21. I thought the gold and black were completely my style and it would work perfectly with my gold jewellery. I was very nervous trying them on as I was sure they were going to look all wrong on me but I was very pleasantly surprised! I really really love them! I think the cut and fit are very flattering and more importantly they are not too short. Keeping the rest of the look quite conservative I think really helps to make this outfit look quite sophisticated and not tarty! I am wearing my Asos chiffon blouse, my old Jigsaw jacket and my Clarks ankle boots. Th necklace was a gift and is by Pranella.

IMG_4535

IMG_4537

The second pair of shorts I ordered is this beautiful jacquard pair in greens, blues and autumn browns. These were £10.50 reduced from £35 so a proper bargain! Again once I tried them on with the same top, jacket, shoes and jewellery I fell in love with the look! I think the colours are really stunning and gives it a unique and expensive feel. It took me ages to decide because to be honest I liked them both so much but I finally went with the green pair mainly because I loved the colours.

IMG_4538

IMG_4541

So, I will let you be the judge, but I definitely don’t feel old enough to completely write off wearing shorts just yet!

Leave a Reply

